Arcade Fire, Drake, Bruno Mars and Tegan and Sara were among the early winners at Canada's 2014 Juno Awards on Sunday (30Mar14) after each picking up pre-show honours.

Reflecktor won rockers Arcade Fire the Alternative Album of the Year prize, while Tegan and Sara earned the title of Pop Album of the Year for Heartthrob, and Drake took home the Rap Recording of the Year accolade for Nothing Was The Same.

Bruno Mars' Unorthodox Jukebox triumphed in the International Album of the Year category; Matt Mays' Coyote was named Rock Album of the Year; Dean Brody claimed the Country Album of the Year for Crop Circles, and Dance Recording of the Year went to Armin van Buuren and Trevor Guthrie for This Is What It Feels Like.

Meanwhile, singer Serena Ryder started her celebrations early as she learned she had won Artist of the Year, and Brett Kissel was awarded Breakthrough Artist of the Year.

The winners of the remaining big categories, such as Single and Album of the Year, Group of the Year and the Juno Fan Choice Award, will be announced during Sunday night's ceremony in Winnipeg, Manitoba, which will be broadcast live in Canada.

Arcade Fire lead the way with six nominations, while Michael Buble and event co-host Ryder have five nominations each.