Alexander Wang and Proenza Schouler lead the 2013 CFDA Awards nominations with two nods each.

The two designers have been short-listed for both Womenswear Designer of the Year and Accessories Designer of the Year, competing against Marc Jacobs for the former prize and Phillip Lim in the latter category at this year's Council of Fashion Designers in America Awards.

Also in the running for Menswear are Thom Browne, Michael Bastain and Duckie Brown.

Vera Wang will be honoured with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement award, named after the late ''fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner'', while Givenchy's creative director Riccardo Tisci - who recently designed outfits for Rihanna's 'Diamonds' tour - will be awarded International Design.

Oscar De La Renta is to take home the Founders accolade.

Winners of the awards, in association with Swarovski crystals, will each receive a contribution from the jewel company in addition to being offered the chance to work with their resources.

Steven Kolb, CFDA's CEO, said: ''The CFDA Fashion Awards celebrate American design talent and the influence our industry has across the globe. This year's nominees and honorees represent the best and most creative talent of the past year as determined by a Guild of their peers.

''We look forward to announcing our winners on June 3 and thank Swarovski for its long time commitment to and support of the event.''

The full list of nominations are as follows:

Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Alexander Wang

Marc Jacobs

Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

Menswear Designer of the Year:

Steven Cox & Daniel Silver for Duckie Brown

Michael Bastian

Thom Browne

Accessory Designer of the Year:

Phillip Lim for 3.1 Phillip Lim

Alexander Wang

Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:

Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind

Carly Cushnie & Michelle Ochs for Cushnie et Ochs

Erin Beatty & Max Osterweis for Suno

Swarovski Award for Menswear:

Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne for Public School

Tim Coppens

Todd Snyder

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:

Irene Neuwirth

Jennifer Meyer

Pamela Love