Alexander McQueen will posthumously receive a Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Board of Directors Special Tribute award.

The British designer - who committed suicide last month - will be given the honour at the board's annual awards, regarded as the Oscars of the fashion word, which will be held in later this year.

Other award recipients include Michael Kors, who will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award, while model Iman will be named Fashion Icon.

Other designers will have to battle it out for awards, with Donna Karan, Marc Jacobs and relative newcomer Alexander Wang competing in the womenswear category - which is considered the big competitive prize of the night.

Tom Ford, Michael Bastian and fashion house Rag and Bone's David Neville and Marcus Wainwright will compete against each other in the menswear category.

For the accessories prize, the competition is between Alexis Bittar, Marc Jacobs and Jack Mccollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler.

Alexis said of his nomination: "This is pretty major. After 19 years of work, I'm recognised by my peers, which is super great."

In the Emerging Talent section - sponsored by Austrian diamond company Swarovski- the nominees are Joseph Altuzarra, Prabal Gurung and Jason Wu.

Jason said: "The CFDA really is the pinnacle of the industry and this is such an honour."

The winner of the award will be given financial help by Swarovski in furthering their career.