Alabama star Randy Owen and singer Jeffrey Steele have been inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The pair joined fellow honourees Layng Martine, Jr. and Will Jennings, famed for penning Titanic theme tune My Heart Will Go On, at the Music City Center in Nashville, Tennessee on Sunday (13Oct13), when they were feted with performances by the likes of fellow country stars Vince Gill, Ray Stevens and Emmylou Harris.

The inductions followed a ceremony by officials at sister organisation, the Nashville Songwriters Association International, which celebrated Taylor Swift's hitmaking prowess by presenting her with her sixth Songwriter-Artist of the Year Award.

Meanwhile, Rodney Clawson was named its Songwriter of the Year and Lee Brice's hit I Drive Your Truck was declared Song of the Year.