Aerosmith rockers Steven Tyler and Joe Perry were celebrated for their hit records on Thursday (13Jun13) as they were inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The Walk This Way hitmakers were joined by Sir Elton John, his songwriting partner Bernie Taupin and singer-songwriter J.D. Souther for the star-studded ceremony at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

Existing inductees Sir Elton and Taupin were presented with the Johnny Mercer Award, while legendary singer Smokey Robinson was on hand to give his good friend Motown founder Berry Gordy the Pioneer Award.

Celebrity guests including rock couple Avril Lavigne and Chad Kroeger, and singer Jordin Sparks were treated to performances by Sting and Foreigner.