The Script have reached the top of the UK albums chart with their self-titled debut release.

The Irish group ended Abba's Mamma Mia!- inspired run at number one as Gold: Greatest Hits dropped to number two.

Noah and the Whale's Peaceful the World Lays me Down entered the chart at five meanwhile, with Rockferry by Duffy and Coldplay's Viva La Vida the third and fourth best-selling albums respectively.

In the singles chart Katy Perry's I Kissed a Girl and All Summer Long by Kid Rock were unchanged at one and two.

The Script's The Man That Can't be Moved was up one to three, with Love is Noise by The Verve and Dance Wiz Me by Dizzee Rascal and Calvin Harris completing the top five.

Top ten UK singles

1 I Kissed a Girl – Katy Perry (1)
2 All Summer Long – Kid Rock (2)
3 The Man That Can't be Moved – The Script (4)
4 Love Is Noise – The Verve (5)
5 Dance Wiz Me – Dizzee Rascal featuring Calvin Harris (3)
6 Disturbia – Rihanna (9)
7 Beggin – Madcon (new entry)
8 No Air – Jordin Sparks featuring Chris Brown (6)
9 5 Years Time – Noah and the Whale (7)
10 Viva La Vida – Coldplay (14)

Top five UK albums

1 The Script – The Script (new entry)
2 Gold: Greatest Hits – Abba (1)
3 Rockferry – Duffy (3)
4 Viva La Vida or Death and all his Friends – Coldplay (2)
5 Peaceful the World Lays me Down – Noah and the Whale

18/08/2008 10:08:59